车站艺术

文化走廊/都市流

来自艺术家的解说

“文化走廊/都市流”是一副延绵 9 英里的公共艺术作品,采用华丽措辞和邻里关系插图,来增强 Transit 1T 新线路所连接的奥克兰市区与 San Leandro 之间的纽带关系。由奥克兰“青年起义”组织、San Leandro 居民以及广泛社区参与的研讨会让市民了解艺术家的设计过程、受到启发并得到指导。当地诗人兼作家的 Elmaz Abinader 提笔创作,由此诞生了一首长达 9 英里的诗。为某些车站特意设计的蜂巢式内六角反光面板,在反射过往的人群和车辆时,呈现出一种栩栩如生的视觉环境。每个车站都是地标,复现周边邻里关系独一无二的文化社会环境。“文化走廊/都市流”认为,交通如果是建立在所有以人为基础的体系环境下,将有利于我们在这个星球上生存和繁荣。将人和物品从一个地方随便运到另一个地方,以及教育、通讯、商业、净水、能源、废物管理只是我们发明的一小部分方法,用来满足我们的生活。健康社会的标志是所有上述体系共同和谐发展。沿着 Tempo 1T 线路不断进行探索,此种经历是一幅尚未开展的艺术作品。

 

捐献艺术家

Johanna Poethig 是一名当代艺术家,因其规模恢弘的壁画和融合建筑的公共艺术、融合社会的合作作品、绘画、混合媒介装置艺术和表演而为世人所知。

她在菲律宾长大,从 20 世纪 80 年代开始就活跃在菲裔美国人艺术圈子里。

近期,她替奥克兰彩虹娱乐中心完成了 65 英寸长的马赛克画,并为加州州立大学蒙特利湾分校新建成的人文与社会科学艺术学院大楼完成签名壁画“天窗”。

在整个湾区和加州、芝加哥、密尔沃基、古巴、华盛顿州、纽约和格鲁吉亚提比里斯,许多人委托她创作公共艺术项目。她在全球范围内举办展会,还在洛杉矶县美术馆、布朗克斯区美术馆、波士顿艺术中心和旧金山芳草地艺术中心开展。她获颁美国国家艺术基金会 (NEA)、加利福尼亚艺术评议会奖项和其他组织颁发的奖项。Poethig 荣获密尔斯学院美术硕士学位,是加州州立大学蒙特利湾分校视觉与公共艺术系绘画与公共艺术课荣誉教授。

Mildred Howard 为贝克莱主义艺术家,因其混合媒介和装置艺术作品而备受推崇并荣获多个奖项,包括 NEA 雕塑奖,两项洛克菲勒艺术家奖学金,以及琼·米切尔奖学金。她的作品为旧金山现代艺术博物馆、迪扬美术馆、纽约新美术馆等馆的重要藏品,并在开罗、柏林、巴黎、伦敦、摩洛哥和威尼斯等国际范围内的多个场馆广泛展出。在旧金山,Howard 与诗人和作家联袂创作装置艺术,其中包括将 Quincy Troupe 的台词嵌入费尔摩街蓝色玻璃板中的“三色调蓝”,以及“语言之乐”,在这部作品当中,Howard 联手旧金山桂冠诗人 Janice Mirikatani 将其诗句嵌入大楼外墙。在 Howard 的作品“移动的里士满”中,Macarthur Fellow Ishmael Reed 的诗句被刻入 40 英尺宽的刻面钢筋墙面。这幅作品可在里士满 BART 车站看到。顺便一提,不透明黑与红相间的玻璃中有各种标点符号,这种设计是受 Quincy Troupe 一首诗的启发,获得 2013 年拉古娜艺术雕塑奖提名,并在威尼斯 Arsenal Venezia 展出。

 

Peter Richards 是在 1974 年与导演 Frank Oppenheimer 开展“探索博物馆艺术家进驻计划”的联合创始人。Peter 在那里是艺术节目总监,直到 1998 年他搬到北卡罗来纳州夏洛特市,成为麦科尔艺术创新中心艺术总监。他于 2001 年返回探索博物馆工作,成为资深艺术家,并于 2010 年荣升资深荣誉艺术家。他在美国和欧洲拥有同等高的公共装置艺术家职业声望。他最杰出的作品是“浪琴石园”,由探索博物馆赞助,位于旧金山码头区。他是马赛市地中海高级研究中心以及卡内基梅隆大学美术学院创造性探究工作室的研究员。

Joyce Hsu 是一位跨学科艺术家和设计师,拥有艺术和建筑双重教育背景。

她已获得旧金山艺术学院美术硕士和加州艺术学院建筑学硕士学位。

她全球开展展出作品。Joyce 创造了特定场域公共艺术。迄今为止,她承接了多项公共艺术项目委托,负责如旧金山国际机场、西雅图市、库比蒂诺、奥克兰凯萨医疗机构、萨克拉门托轻轨系统以及帕罗奥多市高尔夫球场等的主要艺术。

Station Art

Cultural Corridor/Urban Flow

A statement from the artists

Cultural Corridor/Urban Flow is a 9-mile public art work which employs a ribbon of words and neighborhood iconography to enhance the new AC Transit Line 1T that connects Downtown Oakland, to San Leandro. Workshops with Youth UpRising in Oakland, San Leandro residents, and the broader community, informed, inspired, and guided the artists design process. Local poet and writer Elmaz Abinader contributed to the text as it was developed resulting in a 9-mile-long poem.  Light responsive honeycomb-hex panels, designed for certain stations, punctuates the lively visual environment as they respond to people and vehicles moving by. Each station is a landmark riffing on the unique cultural and social environment of the surrounding neighborhood. Cultural Corridor/Urban Flow considers transportation in the context of all the human-constructed systems which enable us to live and prosper on this planet.  Moving people and goods freely from one place to another, along with education, communication, commerce, clean water, energy, waste management are just a few of the ways we have devised to provide for fulfilling lives. A sign of a healthy society is when all of these systems flow together in harmony. This is an unfolding work of art that offers a continuous experience of discovery along the Tempo Line 1T path.

 

Contributing Artists

Johanna Poethig is a contemporary artist known for her monumentally scaled murals and architecturally integrated public art, socially engaged collaborations, painting, multi media installations and performance. She grew up in the Philippines and has been active in Filipino-American arts community since the 1980’s. She recently completed a 65’ long mosaic for Rainbow Recreation Center in Oakland and the signature mural “Skylight” for the new College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences building at CSU, Monterey Bay.  She has been commissioned to create public art projects throughout the Bay Area and California, and in Chicago, Milwaukee, Cuba, Washington State, New York and Tbilisi, Georgia.  She has exhibited internationally, and at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Bronx Museum of the Arts, Boston Center for the Arts and Yerba Buena Center for the Arts.  She has been recognized with awards from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) and California Arts Council, among others. Poethig received her MFA at Mills College and is Professor Emeritus of Painting and Public Art at the Visual and Public Art department at California State University, Monterey Bay.

 

Mildred Howard Berkeley-based artist has received numerous awards for her critically acclaimed mixed-media and installation work, including an NEA Grant in Sculpture, two Rockefeller Artist's Fellowships and the Joan Mitchell Fellowship. Her work is included in major collections, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the de Young Museum, New Museum, New York and has been widely exhibited internationally at venues in Cairo, Berlin, Paris, London, Morocco and Venice. Howard has created of public installation works in San Francisco in collaboration with poets and writers, including Three Shades of Blue, in which lines by Quincy Troupe were etched into blue glass panels on Fillmore Street, and The Music of Language, where Howard worked with San Francisco Poet Laureate Janice Mirikatani to render lines from her poetry on the building's exterior. Howard's Moving Richmond, a work in which a poem by Macarthur Fellow Ishmael Reed was incised into a forty-foot wall of faceted steel, can be seen at Richmond’s BART Station. Parenthetically Speaking, a series of punctuation marks rendered in opaque black and red glass and inspired by a poem by Quincy Troupe, was nominated for the 2013 Arte Laguna Prize in Sculpture, exhibited at the Arsenal Venezia in Venice. 

 

Peter Richards co-founded the Exploratorium’s Artist-in-Residence Program with Director Frank Oppenheimer in 1974. He was Director of Arts Programs there until 1998 when he moved to Charlotte, NC to serve as Artistic Director of the McColl Center for Art + Innovation. He returned to the Exploratorium in 2001 as Senior Artist and became Senior Artist Emeritus in 2010. He has a parallel career as a public artist with installations located in both the US and Europe. His most recognized work is the Wave Organ, sponsored by the Exploratorium and located in the Marina District of San Francisco. He is a Research Fellow at the Mediterranean Center for Advanced Research in Marseille, and the STUDIO for Creative Inquiry at College of Fine Arts, Carnegie Mellon University. 


Joyce Hsu is an interdisciplinary artist and designer with background in both art and architecture. She received her Master of Fine Arts at the San Francisco Art Institute and her Master of Architecture at California College of the Arts. Her work has been exhibited internationally. Joyce creates site-specific public art. To date, she has received several public art commissions, including a major work at the San Francisco International Airport, City of Seattle, Cupertino, Kaiser Permanente Oakland, Sacramento Light Rail system and Palo Alto Municipal Golf Course.